Children

R.E.A.D to the dogs at the library

Date: 
Sat, 08/27/2011 - 10:30am - 12:00pm
Age Group: 
Children

Maggie, a golden retriever from the Reading Education Assistance Dogs (R.E.A.D.) program will be here for children in grades 1-5 to read with her. Parents may sign up readers at the library for 10 minute slots beginning July 23. Please have your library card with you to register.

Room set-up
Room: 

Music with Melinda-Session 2

Date: 
Mon, 11/07/2011 - 10:00am - 10:30am
Age Group: 
Children

For children 18-36 months and their caregivers. Join music therapist Melinda Burgard for a fun time of singing and dancing. Session 2 will be on Monday Nov. 7 and Monday Nov. 14. Register at the library beginning Oct. 15. Please sign up for one session only.

Room set-up

Music with Melinda-Session 1

Date: 
Mon, 10/10/2011 - 10:00am - 10:30am
Age Group: 
Children

For 18-36 month olds and their caregivers. Join music therapist Melinda Burgard as we sing dance and have a great time! Session 1 will be on Monday Oct. 10 and Monday Oct. 17. Register for one session please. Register at the library for this program starting September 10.

Room set-up

Library Is Open Today

Date: 
Sun, 07/03/2011 - 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Age Group: 
Adult
Teens
Children

Effective Sunday, July 3, 2011, the Albert Wisner Public Library will be open on Sundays year 'round.  Come enjoy summertime Sundays at AWPL!

Retro Game Night

Date: 
Mon, 07/18/2011 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Age Group: 
Adult
Teens
Children

Atari! Dreamcast! Sega! Retro video games! Come to the Library to play your old favorites. Come in costume as your favorite video game character and win a prize.

Room set-up

Music of the Andes

Date: 
Fri, 08/12/2011 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Age Group: 
Adult
Teens
Children

Espiritu Andino will perform a variety of traditional and new age urban melodies from the South American Andean Mountains of Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia, Chile and Argentina.  Every band member of Espiritu Andino is a native of the Andean mountains and has an enriching musical experience that have helped sustain a career in South America, the United States and Canada for over a decade.

This concert will be outdoors.  Bring a blanket or beach chair to sit on if you'd like.  In case of inclement weather, the concert will be in the Community Room. 

Room set-up

Library Closed on Sunday, October 2nd for Applefest

Date: 
Sun, 10/02/2011 - 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Age Group: 
Adult
Teens
Children

Library Closed on Monday, September 5th for Labor Day

Date: 
Mon, 09/05/2011 - 9:00am - 8:00pm
Age Group: 
Adult
Teens
Children

Library Closed on Monday, July 4th for Independence Day

Date: 
Mon, 07/04/2011 - 9:00am - 8:00pm
Age Group: 
Adult
Teens
Children

Library Closed on Monday, May 30th for Memorial Day

Date: 
Mon, 05/30/2011 - 9:00am - 8:00pm
Age Group: 
Adult
Teens
Children
Syndicate content